Table of Contents
If your employer is not providing an accurate accounting of your hours and wages, their lack of transparency is illegal, and our knowledgeable employment law attorneys in Pasadena can help you pursue damages for their unlawful behavior.
Before we can get started on your claim, we would like to discuss your case during a free consultation, so you understand the types of supporting evidence that is necessary to pursue a successful outcome. Contact us today to get started.
Basic Documentation Can Help Get Your California Wage and Hour Claim in Motion
If you believe you are not being paid the wages you are rightfully owed from your California employer, we will need some essential information to investigate your claim.
That may include:
- Employer information, including the company name and contact information.
- Personal information, including your name, date of birth, contact information, and employee information, when applicable.
- Supporting documents, including time records, paystubs, paychecks, employment information, or union agreements.
As of January 1, 2022, the California minimum wage is $15 per hour for workers at businesses with 26 or more employees, and $14 per hour for workers at small businesses with 25 or fewer employees. In Southern California, the minimum wage increased again, effective July 1, 2022.
Common ways employers avoid paying their employees the wage and hour compensation they are entitled to may include:
- Altering timesheets.
- Asking employees to work while off the clock.
- Automatically clocking employees out for meal and rest breaks or denying them altogether.
- Paying salaries for hourly positions.
- Demanding workers show up early, but not allowing them to clock in upon arrival.
- Not paying employees for travel time when working at an offsite location.
If you believe your employer has been unlawfully withholding wages, or avoiding paying minimum wage, contact our skilled employment law attorneys today for help.
How Long Do I Have to File a Wage & Hour Claim in California?
There are multiple deadlines for filing wage and hour claims in California, including:
- Within one year for penalties regarding a bounced check or failing to provide access to, or a copy of, payroll or personnel records.
- Within two years for an oral promise to pay more than minimum wage.
- Within three years for violations of minimum wage, overtime, unpaid rest and meal breaks, sick leave, illegal deductions from pay, or unpaid reimbursements
- Within four years for a written contract.
The Division of Labor Standards Enforcement (DLSE) allows employees to pursue wage and hour claims whether they are documented or undocumented workers in California. No matter who you are, you have rights protected by state laws that guarantee payment of wages for work performed. We can help you enforce them, starting with a free consultation.
Contact Our Skilled Employment Law Attorneys in Pasadena, California Today
If you would like to pursue a claim against your employer for unpaid wages, contact our experienced Los Angeles County employment law attorneys to discuss your unique circumstances today.
Our employment law firm and bilingual staff offer services in both English and Spanish and are available now to discuss your case during a free consultation by calling 626-396-9900 or contacting us online.